Author Thread: Interested in knowing how electronics work???
Admin

Interested in knowing how electronics work???
Posted : 3 Sep, 2012 09:31 PM

Are there any young ladies on here who happen to be the outdoors type, or have an interest in electronics (not the actual devices, but what makes them work). I'm a self-taught basic electronics engineer. After hours, days, weeks, and months of searching the internet, I finally found a freeware (open source) program several months ago that allows me to build circuits out of what are called "gates". I've managed to build an alarm system and watched it in action on my computer screen. It would reset itself after a certain amount of time and so forth. My mom was fascinated when I showed her...and I thought she'd never understand how it works...but after much explaining, it finally made sense to her.

So, when did I get interested in electronics and how they work??? Well, I'd say about 10 years ago. I've pulled apart so many electronic devices, such as vehicle radios, that I've lost count! I currently just play around with simple circuits as a hobby...but I could probably do far more with what I know. Why haven't I pursued it as a career??? Simple...I just don't have an interest in being a millionaire. Why??? Well, I could think of a few reasons...but mainly because life isn't all about money...not for me anyway. For me, life is more about finding and having a wife to share life with...a woman who truly loves me for me...not for the benefits.

Anyway, am I the only person on here who knows about circuit "gates"???...or digital logic??? Do you know what transistors, resistors, capacitors, and diodes are???...or what they do??? Unfortunately, this stuff is, for the most part, boring to my family members...so I don't really have anyone to talk to about it most of the time.

By the way, if you get me talking about this subject, I might not ever shut up...at least not for a little while...LOL :)

View Profile
History