Author Thread: does it make any sense
Admin

does it make any sense
Posted : 19 Aug, 2011 03:12 PM

No one has been able to explain to me why young men and women serve in the U.S. Military for 20 years, risking their lives protecting freedom, and only get 50% of their pay. While Politicians hold their political positions in the safe confines of the capital, protected by these same men and women, and receive full pay retirement after serving one term. It just does not make any sense.

teach_ib

View Profile
History
does it make any sense
Posted : 20 Aug, 2011 02:22 AM

The politicians are the ones who determine the pay and benefits...for both groups. If one could vote themselves a pay raise...they probably would.

Politicians, in general, see themselves as doing a good job...and voters reenforce that thought by contusion reelecting them.

Sad thing is many military members don't even vote...I was a voting officer on base one year...people who had served 15-20 years told me they had never voted!

View Profile
History
does it make any sense
Posted : 20 Aug, 2011 05:57 PM

You are Right, I met a Retired Marine in 2009 Online and we became friends. He told me he never Voted, when I asked him about voting. That is Sad.

My brother is a Vietnam war vet, my dad was a Navy vet, and I have two newphews that served in Iraq twice.

I think the veterans deserve more benefits than what the

US gives them and they should be ashamed not to give them

more for serving the Country.

IMO

View Profile
History
does it make any sense
Posted : 26 Aug, 2011 06:22 PM