Author Thread: Single Foster Mom
slinzy

View Profile
History
Single Foster Mom
Posted : 24 Jul, 2013 05:11 PM

Hi there. So I have been praying for over 3 years abut becoming a foster parent. I have made the decision to take the steps and get my license. I have a lot of support from my christian friends and family, but as with any decision in life there are always critics.

What if you find a man who doesnt want an instant family?

How will you afford it?

How will you work and have 4 kids?

How will they see a healthy male roll?

It is umbiblical because...

I am so conflicted. I know God is making these moves, not me. Ad honestly if a man comes around and doesnt want to be a foster dad... he is not mine. Because I believe to help the orphan is my calling. To kiss boo boos and tell them how much God loves them. To teach them that God as well as some people, can be trusted.

So any insight? So much going on in my head right now

I am 25 and have no kids of my own. I worry all the time about finding a husband, but I leave it in Gods hands. And this is the work His hands are doing.

View Profile
History
Single Foster Mom
Posted : 18 Sep, 2013 05:47 PM

Well the thing about foster care, certainly in the UK at least, is that you can specify the length of how long you want to take a kid on for. For some families, the child is with them for years (and sometimes is adopted by the foster family), others may only be for a few months, and in the case of emergency carers, just for a night or two. It's certainly worth asking what the options are.

Lukia

View Profile
History
Single Foster Mom
Posted : 23 Sep, 2013 02:07 AM

If it is a calling my sister go a head and fulfill it.

You enjoy what you love most.

If its God's will He will give you a person who has the same calling so that you can work and enjoy it together.

Don't fail to fulfill your dream coz of what friends or others say.

Sometimes you just have to give a deaf ear and go on.