Author Thread: Kids Meeting the New Person?
JourneyCC

View Profile
History
Kids Meeting the New Person?
Posted : 14 Sep, 2011 10:08 AM

Hi Everyone :glow:

I'm curious about your introducing the new person experiences. The good, the bad, the ugly! When? Where?

I am very protective of my kids and have not let them meet anyone that I've dated since separating from their dad. I am protective of their overall well-being in the long run and do not want to expose them to anyone unless I'm seriously contemplating marrying someone.

What has worked for you? Not worked for you?

View Profile
History
Posted : 17 Sep, 2011 08:24 PM

I have no personal experience with this but have thought about this same situation. I also work in the mental health field and also know that many children have been damaged by this exact situation.

Often it is the new boyfriend/girlfriend that is abusive. More children suffer from "shaken baby syndrome" from males that are not blood related to the child. That is not to say that biological parents can't hurt a child but statistics say it is usually others.

I have taken care of so many men and women (as a mental health care provider) that have told stories about how mom had so many boyfriends in and out of the house and how devastating it was to them. Not always that they were abused (but that was often).

Many kids are starved for the company of a father (or mother if it is a single dad) figure, mom gets a great boyfriend, he bonds with the kids and then she/they decide it is not working and then another parent figure it yanked away from the kids. This can be devastating to kids. Children can bond quite strongly to an adult and they suffer a great loss that is often overlooked.

I have yet to have a man in my life that I will worry about but I really feel that parents should think with their head and not their heart in this instance and wait a long time before children are added to the mix.

Ruralnurse

Bridgit

View Profile
History