Author Thread: Scam Alert
Pinkstrawbs

View Profile
History
Scam Alert
Posted : 29 Nov, 2015 07:36 AM

Hi ladies,

I'm a newbie and terrified of being scammed. Have you been scammed or almost scammed. What are some warning signs?

NRSV1953

View Profile
History
Scam Alert
Posted : 29 Nov, 2015 08:23 AM

Please y'all, be very careful about what you post here. There are some scammers who read these forums. . . As CDFF warns, beware of anyone who wants to go offsite right away. DO NOT give out your personal info, such as full name, phone numbers, etc. . . Use God's gift of discernment and you should stay safe! . . .

View Profile
History
Scam Alert
Posted : 30 Nov, 2015 07:27 AM

I just wanted to post something on this topic. The #1 warning sign is when you ask the other person, "let's go on skype or send a video" and they get angry or say "I don't have a camera" or "I don't know how it works." If you don't know how it works, then what are you doing on an internet dating site? It's the best way to verify someone to make sure they are a real person. If they claim they cannot be verified, then you are wrong to put any trust in that person. In fact, you shouldn't be friends with someone as long as you don't know for sure that they are real and trustworthy. And how can you find that out? By sharing a video or going live on skype. Other red flags include : bad grammar, no Facebook, no twitter account, no online presence, being too eager, too similar, too nice, etc. Those are all warning signs. But the #1 red flag is when the person refuses to go on skype for WHATEVER REASON.

NRSV1953

View Profile
History
Scam Alert
Posted : 30 Nov, 2015 08:15 AM

Silver, some of us "older folks" are not as technologically savvy as you so please don't hold that against us, ok? . . ;-)

View Profile
History
Scam Alert
Posted : 30 Nov, 2015 12:06 PM