Author Thread: Lots More Flood Questions
Admin

Lots More Flood Questions
Posted : 10 Jan, 2011 08:24 AM

I want to preface this by saying that I think these are legitimate questions worth pondering. I am asking them because they are part of a series of questions I have been asking for several months in my own thinking and meditation. These questions come from many I have about the creation of mankind and particularly the creation of Adam and Eve. We can get all hung up on creation and then forget that while we may believe we are all descendants of Adam and Eve, we are also all descendants of Noah.

I'm not really trying to debate whether or not the flood was world-wide. But I am very interested in how this story would have become a part of so many cultures whether it was a world wide flood or not.

Since we believe that there were only a few survivors of the flood. Is it possible that the legend of the flood is world wide but the flood itself was not? This would have been a very important part of the stories of origins for the people as they populated the earth after the flood. It would have remained a part of their history.

If we assume the flood destroyed the whole world then there would not have been any people in other parts of the world who would have survived to tell about it. If the story of Noah is a story that is a part of the history of so many cultures then it is likely that it is a true event and it was passed down as the people spread around the earth after the flood.

Since there are so many flood legends around the world, how do we know that the story Moses tells us is any more true or accurate than any other culture's story of the flood? That is, do we assume that all other legends prove that the Bible story is the true story or do we look at each story as told by the culture it comes from and accept them all as versions of the same event without any of them giving substance to the Biblical version?