Author Thread: The Inaguration
Admin

The Inaguration
Posted : 23 Jan, 2009 01:39 PM

Praise be unto Jehovah, God of all. Hi. Do you remember the Beatles album " Sargent Peppers Lonely Hearts Club Band"? There was a song on that album called Eleanor Rigby, and as I milled through the crowds at the inauguration, a line from the song began to play in my head-"Look at all the lonely people, where do they all come from"? There were almost 3 million people there, and as I moved among them, I was overtaken by a feeling of profound sadness; Everywhere I looked, there were people-Black, white, red, yellow. Conservative, liberal, straight, gay, Jews, Gentiles, Buddhist's, Catholics, Muslims, Atheist's. People gathered to witness history. As I studied the faces that streamed by me, I saw a common expression; Hope? Joy? No. The expression that prevailed on inauguration day was..........Desperation. All the lonely people, where do they all come from? We live in a country, a world that lies on the brink of destruction. You don't have to read the book of Revelation to see it, just watch the news. As Barrack ABM was sworn in, everyone, myself included, cheered wildly. For what? Personally, I cheered because he is black. Of course, there were those that grew up under the tyranny and shame of Jim Crow, and I see why they cheered, for indeed, this day was a long time coming. Most everyone else cheered because of President Obamas representation of change.The multitudes were gathered to believe something, to receive something, to take part in something. Change. America is desperate for deliverance, desperate for change, in deep need of hope. I saw in the eyes of the people that I met that day a desperate hope that this day, this event, this man would change things. What saddened me is the knowledge that in the grand scheme of things, if you were without a savior, and headed for hell when you woke up that morning, you most likely went to bed the same way. Likewise if you were unemployed