Author Thread: Asking someone out on a date
Admin

Asking someone out on a date
Posted : 28 Nov, 2007 02:11 PM

I'm new to this, so I've been wondering... after you've been messaging someone for a while and you've gotten to know them a little bit, do you ask them out on some kind of date, especially if they live far away? I mean, what do you do next.

In person, I'd ask them out on a date. I wouldn't want to make any decisions about where we're headed wihtout having gone on a few dates where I could really learn a lot more about them. Is there any equivalent of that for this online stuff, like a telephone call or instant messenger chat? I really can't see anything starting based on emails.

Any thoughts?

View Profile
History
Posted : 31 Dec, 2007 03:07 PM

Hi,

I know this is an older post, however thought i would share my thoughts on the matter.

Online v's offline is very different in many ways.

I find that it is hard to truly get to know a person online.

If you have been friends with someone online for some time and believe that it would be positive for things to go furthers, than my encouragement is to pray about it and patiently wait for God to give you the right direction.

I have seen internet started relationships work out, and have seen some fail also.

To truly know a person we need to spend time with them, that way we can see things that the net does not allow us to see.. for example: Sometimes people post fake or diluted profiles and make it really easy for someone to like them, when in fact they are not that person in real life.. this can be through what their profile says, or they say in messages, could come down to something as simple as the picture they posted, the location they state in their profile, their lifestyle, their beliefs etc.