Author Thread: The Immaculate Beauty of Life and Death!
Admin

The Immaculate Beauty of Life and Death!
Posted : 4 Oct, 2009 09:29 PM

You know, it's not every day I get to experience something like this, and not every day that I'm experience such profound motions of feeling that I have today, so it is today that I must share.

I work as a nurse aid at an old folks home right outside of the small town I live in. Anyhow, there is a lady in the home who I took to right away. You see generaly when you work as a nurse aid the old folks like to take it upon themselves to try to intimidate the newbies such as my self. One such resident was a lady named Thelma.

I began work at this home back in December, and ever since day one, this lady has given me heck when ever she got the chance. To look at her, she was quite intimmidating. Her left eye was always shut on account that her eye had gone bad and shrivelled up. On top of this her cheeks began to sag in her late years, so she honestly looked a lot like the seer form the Jim Henson movie, Dark Crystal. For any of you who have seen this movie, I'm sure you know exactly what I'm talking about. :)

Anyhow, I'm not here to knock on the ladies physical features, as she was beautiful in my eyes.

I recall one day she was "barking me around" as she liked to put it, and I was at the time in the bathroom helping her to change her pants. She asked me why it was that I helped her all the time and was so nice to her when she is always so grouchy and was always ordering me around.

With a smile I replied it was because I absolutely loved to help her, that she reminded me of my self (because I too have been known to be a bit hard headed), and it was an honor.

To that she smiled, and thanked me a million times, and since then the thanks have never ceased. Her thanking me for being there for her, and my thanking her for being her.