Author Thread: Old Time Christian music
annag011443

View Profile
History
Old Time Christian music
Posted : 6 Oct, 2009 11:35 AM

Hi. My name is Ann and I've been singing since I was 3 yrs old giving unsolicited solos in church until at the age of 5 they decided thay may as well put me on the platform and that's how I started. That was 63 yrs ago and I have noticed that the good old-fashioned Christian music is falling by the wayside and that's a real shame. I think you can take an ole hymn with the same message and make it new again to appeal to the younger audience. Any opinions? I have a few recorded and some of the newer stuff as well as some secular love songs, country. I love it all but the old-time hymns are everlasting.:angel:

Would love other folks opinion and input and maybe you could check out a couple of my songs on youtube.

View Profile
History
Old Time Christian music
Posted : 8 Oct, 2009 08:58 AM

I love the classics, especially The Old Rugged Cross.

At the same time I feel that sometimes musick and sound scapes need to take on new forms in order to reach new crowds.

I.E. You more than likely will not get the Hot Topic, Rebel Without a Cause, Teen Angst crowed wooed over by singing from the old hymnals...

...given all the hypocrisy and evil done in the name of Christianity, it is going to be very hard to achieve that, though on the other hand if you use a medium such as Hip-Hop, Industrial, Punk, or what have you, they may be lured in by the sound, and then later, hopefully, inspired by the message of the words.