Author Thread: Age Difference
Admin

Age Difference
Posted : 11 Apr, 2009 04:56 PM

Hello there,

I have been coming here for a few months now and I noticed that some women are open to meeting a mate who can be a lot older (or younger) then themselves. But I also noticed that the great majority prefers to stay 5-10 years within their own age.

I would like to hear other peoples opinion on dating men/women that are 10-15 years older or younger. Do you think it can work? Has it ever worked for you or are you aware of instances where a large difference in age was no obstacle?

Thanks and be blessed in Him!

Andrew

View Profile
History
Age Difference
Posted : 11 Apr, 2009 06:16 PM

Hi, Andrew.

I have several friends that are happily married where there is at least a decade between them. My father is almost ten years older than my mother and they've been married for more than forty years.

Personally, I have dated younger men and found that the age gap itself did not play a factor in the success or demise of any of the relationships. Rather, it was lack of quality time spent, or our ministry callings clashed.

But the deal breaker is if we are unequally yoked. No missionary dating here. But concerning dating believers, I've had to walk away from a relationship, that although it was firing on all cylinders, his walk with the Lord was not as solid.

Mark 3:25 is scripture that I meditate on when I'm considering someone as a potential husband. God laid it out for me regarding His requirement in a mate. The man is to be the priest in my home, a living illustration of Jesus in my life.

Whether it's a five, ten, or even fifteen year difference, if God is in the details, He will bless the union. If God ordains, He sustains.

God's Peace and Blessings,

Jocelyn.

HE IS RISEN...HE'S RISEN INDEED!

View Profile
History
Age Difference
Posted : 11 Apr, 2009 07:16 PM

Thank you, Jocelyn, for sharing your thoughts!

Blessings in Christ!